Car seat expiration lookup
A car seat expiration date is the date after which the manufacturer says the seat should no longer be used. Most seats last 6 to 10 years, counted from the date of manufacture printed on the shell. Pick your brand or seat below, enter the date on the label, and see exactly when yours expires.
Car seat expiration by brand
Useful life in years, by seat type, from each brand's own manuals and policy pages. Where a brand gives a range, the model decides it: your label is the final word.
| Brand | Infant | Convertible | All-in-one | Booster | Counted from |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Graco | 7 | 7 (no steel-reinforced frame) or 10 (steel-reinforced frame) | 10 | 10 (high-back and backless); harness-boosters 7 or 10 by frame | Date of manufacture |
| Chicco | 6 | 8 (Fit360 rotating) | 10 (OneFit LX); 8 or 10 by model per search extract | n/a | Date of manufacture |
| Britax | 6 | 10 (ClickTight and rotating convertibles) | 10 | 10 (belt-positioning); Harness-2-Booster 9 | Date of manufacture (not purchase) |
| Evenflo | 10 per current policy (Shyft DualRide FAQ still says 6) | 10 per current policy | 10 (Revolve360 Extend confirmed 10) | 10 per current policy | Date of manufacture |
| UPPAbaby | 7 (Aria V2, Mesa V2) ; 10 (Mesa V3 per US manual dated 2025-12-26) | 10 (Rove) | n/a | n/a | Date of manufacture; manual says 'after 7/10 years from the date of manufacture or after a crash' |
| Nuna | n/a | 10 (RAVA) | 10 (EXEC per search extract, RAVA confirmed in manual) | n/a | Seat age ('do not use if more than 10 years old'); label or stamped 'do not use after' date |
| Clek | 9 | 9 | n/a | 9 (Oobr, Olli, Ozzi) | Date of manufacture |
| Cybex | 6 (Aton G, search extract) | 8 (Sirona M) to 10 (Callisto G 360), search extract | n/a | 8 (search extract) | Date of manufacture (search extract) |
| Maxi-Cosi | 8 (Mico Max 30 manual) | n/a | n/a | n/a | Date of manufacture |
| Doona | 6 | n/a | n/a | n/a | Date of manufacture |
| Peg Perego | 7 | 10 per web policy | 12 per 2024 US manual (web policy says 10 for convertibles) | 12 | Date of ORIGINAL PURCHASE; production date used only if purchase date unknown |
| Joie | 7 | 10 (Chili Spin 360) | n/a | n/a | Infant seats: ORIGINAL PURCHASE (manufacture date if purchase date unknown). Chili Spin 360: date of manufacture |
| Baby Jogger | 7 (City GO 2) | n/a | n/a | n/a | Date of manufacture |
| Diono | n/a | 10 | 10 (harness mode 8, booster mode up to 10, per search extract) | n/a | Date of PURCHASE; manufacture date if purchase date cannot be determined |
| Safety 1st | 8 (onBoard 35) | n/a | 10 (Grow and Go, search extract, unverified) | n/a | Date of manufacture |
| Cosco | n/a | 8 (Scenera NEXT) | n/a | n/a | Date of manufacture |
| Baby Trend | 6 (Secure Snap/standard); 7 (EZ-Lift, Secure-Lift) | 7 (Trooper 3-in-1); Hybrid with harness 6 | Cover Me 4-in-1: 7 harness, 9 booster | Hybrid backless booster 10; Hybrid high-back (no harness) 6 | Date of production |
| Bugaboo | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | Not stated |
| Kids Embrace | n/a | n/a | n/a | n/a | Not stated |
| Wayb | n/a | 7 (Pico, forward-facing harnessed travel seat) | n/a | n/a | Date of manufacture |
"n/a" means the brand publishes no figure for that type, or does not make one. Bugaboo's infant seat is made by Nuna; check its label.
Expiry and airplane use for every seat we have scored
All 25 seats in our infant andconvertible car seat guides, checked against the manufacturer's manual. Flying? "With conditions" usually means harness mode only, or the carrier without its base.
| Seat | Expires after (years) | FAA-approved for aircraft |
|---|---|---|
| UPPAbaby Aria V2 | 7 | Yes |
| Clek Liing | 9 | Yes |
| Britax Willow S | 6 | Yes, with conditions |
| Evenflo Shyft DualRide | 6 (FAQ) or 10 (newer Evenflo policy) | Yes, with conditions |
| Joie Mint Latch | 7 | Yes |
| Joie Rue | 7 | Yes |
| Chicco KeyFit 30 ClearTex | 6 | Yes |
| Chicco KeyFit Max ClearTex | 6 | Yes |
| Peg Perego Primo Viaggio Nido | 7 | Yes |
| UPPAbaby Mesa V3 | 10 | Yes |
| Baby Jogger City GO 2 | 7 | Yes |
| Graco SnugRide 35 Lite LX | 7 | Yes |
| Doona Car Seat & Stroller | 6 | Yes |
| Britax Poplar S | 10 | Yes, with conditions |
| Britax One4Life ClickTight | 10 | Yes, with conditions |
| Chicco Fit360 | 8 | Yes |
| UPPAbaby Rove | 10 | Yes |
| Graco Turn2Me 3-in-1 | 10 | Yes, with conditions |
| Clek Fllo | 9 | Yes |
| Chicco OneFit LX ClearTex | 10 | Yes, with conditions |
| Graco Extend2Fit 3-in-1 | 10 | Yes, with conditions |
| Evenflo Revolve360 Extend | 10 | Yes, with conditions |
| Graco SlimFit 3-in-1 | 10 | Yes, with conditions |
| Graco 4Ever DLX | 10 | Yes, with conditions |
| Clek Foonf | 9 | Yes |
Where to find the date on your seat
Turn the seat over. Nearly every brand prints the model number and date of manufacture on a white sticker on the bottom or back of the shell; infant seats often carry it under the carrier, with a second label on the base. Some brands also mold a "do not use after" date into the plastic. Keep the label readable: without it, nobody can check the seat for recalls or age.
Why car seats expire
Manufacturers give three reasons. Plastic weakens with years of heat and sunlight in a parked car. Harness webbing and adjusters wear. And standards move on, so a ten-year-old design lacks protection a new seat has. Federal law does not set an expiry date: NHTSA leaves it to each manufacturer.
After a crash
NHTSA says to replace a seat after any moderate or severe crash. A seat can stay in use after a minor crash only if all five of these are true:
- The vehicle could be driven away from the crash site.
- The door nearest the car seat was not damaged.
- No one in the vehicle was injured.
- The air bags did not deploy.
- The car seat has no visible damage.
Your seat's manual can be stricter. UPPAbaby, for example, says to stop using its seats after any crash.
Printable check for a used or hand-me-down seat
Run through NHTSA's checklist before a secondhand seat goes in your car. One "no" and it should not.
Check for recalls
Search your seat's make and model at nhtsa.gov/recalls, or call NHTSA's Vehicle Safety Hotline on 888-327-4236. Register every seat with its maker, by the card in the box or online, so you hear about a recall directly. NHTSA suggests checking twice a year.
Car seat expiration questions
Do car seats really expire?
Yes. Every major brand sets a useful life, usually 6 to 10 years, printed on a label on the seat. Plastic weakens with heat and sunlight, straps stretch, and safety standards move on. Federal law does not set the number; the manufacturer does.
Where is the expiration date on a car seat?
On a sticker or molded stamp, usually on the bottom or back of the shell, often next to the model number and date of manufacture. If you only find a manufacture date, add the brand's useful life in the table on this page.
Does car seat expiration count from purchase or manufacture?
Most brands count from the date of manufacture. Peg Perego, Diono and Joie's infant seats count from the original purchase date, and fall back to the manufacture date without a receipt.
What if my car seat has no expiration date?
The AAP says to use 6 years from the date of manufacture when no expiration date is given. If there is no manufacture date either, do not use the seat.
Do I have to replace a car seat after a crash?
NHTSA says replace it after any moderate or severe crash. After a minor crash it can stay in use only if all five of NHTSA's minor-crash conditions apply, and only if your seat maker agrees: some say replace after any crash.
Our buying guides
- Best Infant Car Seat: 15 products scored
- Best Convertible Car Seat: 13 products scored
Browse every guide in Car Seats, or the whole Mobility & Travel section.
Sources: each brand's manual or expiration page (linked in the table);NHTSA, Car Seat Use After a Crash;NHTSA, Used Car Seat Safety Checklist;NHTSA interpretation on used seats; AAP, healthychildren.org. Checked October 4, 2026. Next: find the right stage with our car seat stage finder.